Rangpur Division

Rangpur Division is a geographically and historically traditional northern town of Bangladesh. Teesta River has separated north and north-east border from Lalmonirhat and Kurigram district. The total area of Rangpur division is 16320.26 square Kilometers. It has 8 districts, 58 Upazilas, 527 Unions, 27 Municipalities and 12549 Wards.

Rangpur Division’s Background

Bangladesh’s northern 16 districts Rajshahi Division’s activities were running. Rajshahi Division headquarters department located in the south so that the activities in the 8 districts of the northern part become difficult that reflect the overall development of the administrative of Rangpur region. For this reason Rangpur Division was created.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the implications of her chairmanship 5 January 2010, held on NICAR and it decided in the meeting that in accordance with the Rajshahi division split on March 9, 2010 Rangpur, Dinajpur region’s 8 districts (Rangpur, Dinajpur, Nilphamari, Lalmonirhat, Thakurgaon, Kurigram and Panchagarh, Gaibandha) in Rangpur Division regarding the creation of the division of public notification is issued.

Rangpur Division’s Heritage

Carmichael University College building, Payarabando Begum Rokeya’s house, Manthana landowner home, Keramatia Mosque, Rangpur Museum, Maulana Karamat Ali Jainapuri (R.)’s Mazar, Hazrat Shah Jalal Bukhari’s Mazar, Tajhat Zamidar House, Qutub Shah Mazar, Raipur Zamidar House, Ruins of the Patgram King Nilambarer’s house, Candanhata Hari Temple, Dimlaraj Kali Temple and Mithapukur which have been excavated in Mughal period.

Rangpur Division’s Districts