Rajshahi Division

8 districts of Northern part of Bangladesh Rajshahi Division situated. These are Rajshahi, Bogra, Naogaon, Pabna, Natore, Joypurhat, Sirajganj. The area of the Rajshahi division is 18.154 square kilometers. It has 67 Upazila and 563 unions.

Rajshahi Division’s Background

Rajshahi Division was created in 1829 as an administrative unit. Then the divisional headquarters was at Murshidabad. Murshidabad, Malda, Jalpaiguri, Rangpur, Dinajpur, Bogra, Pabna and Rajshahi these eight districts formed the Rajshahi Division then. A few years later, the Rajshahi Divisional Headquarters is transferred to present Rajshahi towns Rampur Boalia village. Later, in 1888, the divisional headquarters was transferred to Jalpaiguri. After the partition in 1947 divisional headquarters were transferred to Rajshahi again.

At the beginning of the sixties, before the Khulna Division formed including Khulna Division districts were in Rajshahi Division. Khulna Division separate since the Rajshahi region 8 (Rajshahi, Natore, Chapainawabganj, Pabna, Sirajganj, Bogra and Jayapurat) and Rangpur region 8 (Rangpur, Kurigram, Gaibandha, Nilphamari, Lalmonirhat, Dinajpur, Thakurgaon and Panchagarh), a total of 16 districts Rajshahi Division was formed.

On 9 March 2010, The Republic Government of Bangladesh declared Rangpur as a division including the 8 districts of Rangpur region as a result Rajshahi division got a new look with its 8 districts.

Rajshahi Division’s Heritage

Rajshahi Division carries different historical traditions. Such as: Chapainwabganj district’s Sonamasjid, Naogaon district’s Kusumba mosque and Paharpur Buddhist monasteries, Rajshahi district’s Puthia jamidarabari, Natore district’s Uttara Ganobhabon and jamidarabari, Bogra district’s Mohastangahr .


Rajshahi Division Cricket, Football, Swimming, ethaletiksa, cycling, volleyball, hockey, sports, etc. is always ahead. This division’s noteworthy stadium Shaheed Chandu Stadium at Bogra District and Shahid Kamaruzzaman Stadium at Rajshahi district hosted various international matches.

Rajshahi Division’s rivers


Rajshahi district communications

Most of the communications of Rajshahi dependents on roads but after the making of the Bangabandhu Bridge rail communications has increased slightly. Rajshahi district have been developed advanced communications systems to the north-south and east. Rangpur, Dhaka, Khulna, including Barisal and surrounding districts have improved road contact with the Rajshahi. On the other hand districts all Upazila and union has the road communication among them. Lack of navigability of Padma river waterways of Dhaka to Rajshahi does not exist now. Rajshahi has a good communication with the capital.

Rajshahi Division’s Districts